HomeBest Computer Best Computer Accessories Best Router How to Delete a WiFi Network From a Router

How to Delete a WiFi Network From a Router

Written By:

Updated January 14, 2022

If you’ve been toying around with the advanced features of your wireless setup, you may wonder how to delete a WiFi network from a router. The best routers, after all, are not tied to a single router, allowing for removal when necessary. Why would you delete a wireless network from your router and how to do it? Keep reading.

KEY TAKEAWAYS:

  • Deleting a wireless or Wi-Fi network is a good idea if you switch to a new ISP, if you move, or if you travel a lot with the router in tow.
  • The easiest way to do this is typically to perform a full factory reset on the wireless router itself, though there could be a router settings option or wireless settings option available.
  • Some routers include a reset switch or button on the exterior of the unit. Look near the back or on the side.

Why Delete a WiFi Network Via Your Router?

The primary reason to do this is when you move or get a new Internet service provider, or if you simply travel a lot and bring the router with you. This helps keep your router running smoothly and efficiently, such as when you learn how to set up a 5GHz router.

How to Delete a Wireless Network From Your Router

The steps here differ according to the make and model of your device, like when you are learning how to set up DDR-WT on a router. With that in mind, we have tried to keep these guidelines as universal as possible.

Insider Tip

While you are in the settings menu, feel free to make other adjustments to improve network security, speed, and reliability.

STEP 1

The best way to do this is to simply perform a full factory reset. There is an easy way to do this with some routers. Check the exterior of the router for a trigger switch or button that resets the unit when pressed down with a pin or the tip of a pencil. If visible, press it down for several seconds and restart the router.

STEP 2

No button anywhere? Your next step is to head to the settings software or admin control panel, which is done in a variety of different ways depending on your router. Check the instructions that accompanied the device or perform a quick web search.

STEP 3

In most cases, you can access the settings page by inputting the router’s public IP address into a web browser’s address bar. It’s either that or using dedicated firmware or a mobile app provided by the manufacturer.

STEP 4

Scour the settings options for “reset” or “perform full reset” or “factory reset.” The language changes depending on your router. Once you find the right setting, enable the reset and save your changes. You’ll have to restart the router but once you do, you should be good to with all prior wireless networks erased.

F.A.Q.S

How to forget a Wi-Fi network from your iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, or Mac?

This depends on the device itself, but this is typically done via the network settings menu. Look for the unwanted network connections and press delete or remove.


How to quickly forget a saved Wi-Fi network?

If you want to do this on a computer, head to the Windows Sharing Center, for instance, to forget a saved Wi-Fi network. You won’t even need an Internet connection to do this.


How to disable guest networks on your router?

If you want to disable an errant guest network, head into the settings page and look for a guest network option. Click the “Disable Guest Network” tab to proceed.



STAT: The first professional wireless network was developed under the brand ALOHAnet in 1969 at the University of Hawaii and became operational in June 1971. (source)