HomeBest Computer Best Laptops Best Gaming Laptops Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080 Review

Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080 Review

Written By:

Updated January 26, 2022
Reader Rating1 Vote
9.5
9.2
Expert Rating

Want to experience VR for yourself, but aren’t sure where to start? If you know what you want, and that’s power, then you’ll want the best VR ready laptops: the Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080. Experience smooth frame transitions with its 300Hz refresh rate, 1TB SSD, and a NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Max-Q GPU to power it all. Or, you can just start with our review of the best gaming laptops.

Why We Like It – Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080

The Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080 wields its RTX 2080 Super Max-Q GPU expertly, featuring 300Hz refresh rate and 1TB SSD storage to hold all of your favorite VR titles.

Pros
  • NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Max-Q GPU
  • 300Hz refresh rate
  • 1TB SSD storage
Cons
  • Pricey

Power & Performance

What does having a NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Max-Q GPU mean to you? For starters, ray tracing is immediately available to you, without a major hit to gaming performance. In fact, under high settings, at 1080p, frame rates consistently reach 100fps. And with a 300Hz refresh rate backing you up, your experience should be nothing short of amazing. Speaking of amazing, check out our Gigabyte P35X V5 review if you want a laptop with an amazing ultra HD display.

Battery, Ports & Expandability

The battery life in the Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080 is right where we’d expect: 6 hours. That’s not bad, nor is it amazing; it’s slightly above average. HDMI, two USB-C/Thunderbolt ports is a nice addition, alongside a SD card reader, and three USB 3.1 Type-A ports.

Related: Also check out our Razer Blade 15 RTX 2070 review.

Build Quality

For such a thin laptop—thinner than a dime—the Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080 is quite the sturdy piece of equipment. It’s anodized with CNC aluminum, so trying to bend the laptop is going to be tough, unless you’re the Hulk. It doesn’t have a full keyboard layout, unlike the Alienware M15, but the text is particularly chunky and easily read; a nice touch nonetheless.

Value

The best part about picking up the Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080 isn’t just its high performance, but the additional options you can pick before checkout, similar to the MSI Stealth GS65. If the 4K touch display isn’t to your liking, that’s fine! Drop down to a 15-inch Full HD display and save yourself some money. Considering it’s $2795, save money where you can. Better yet, reconsider the Alienware M17.

Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080 Wrap Up

Aside from being pricey, which you can lessen here and there, the Razer Blade 15 RTX 2080 is a powerhouse when it comes to VR, and gaming in general. The NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Max-Q GPU gives you immediate access to jaw-dropping raytracing. And the 300Hz screen makes framerate transition smooth.

Bottom Line
Reader Rating1 Vote
9.5
What We Liked
What We Didn’t
9.2
Expert Rating