Our posts contain affiliate links. Sometimes, not always, we may make $$ when you make a purchase through these links. No Ads. Ever. Learn More
Table of Contents_
If you are thinking of buying one of the top-tier electric scooters, you may be wondering what the laws are regarding where you can and cannot ride one. That’s where we come in.
There are a variety of scooter-related rules and regulations, but most adults should be able to ride one in most cities throughout the country and beyond. There are some caveats that will be discussed below.
You will want to check with your city, state, and local municipality to find out all of the specific rules regarding electric scooter use in your area.
There are a number of rules and regulations that fall into multiple categories and subcategories. These rules will differ depending on where you live, but we have assembled some general guidelines to get you started. And just in case your vehicle fails to start and you suspect something faulty, you need to know where the fuse on an e-scooter is located. Plus, make sure you know where to park your electric scooter, so it isn’t towed or stolen.
You will want to check with your city, state, and local municipality to find out all of the specific rules regarding electric scooter use in your area. This information can typically be found online and if you are having trouble finding an answer to your question, we recommend giving your local government a call or an email. They should have the information handy. Also, although it is not mandatory to have this, you can learn where is the ID number on your electric scooter.
California, for instance, requires a rider to have a valid driver’s license or a driver’s permit.
Most cities and states have placed their own specific age restrictions regarding the use of electric scooters. The ages can vary wildly depending on the area of the country and they range from around 12 years old to 18 years old. Minnesota, for instance, has placed a minimum age requirement of 12 years old while California has issued one of 16 years old. Check with your state government to find out the age restrictions.
Some states require an active driver’s license or a driver’s permit to use an electric scooter, in addition to the aforementioned age limit. California, for instance, requires a rider to have a valid driver’s license or a driver’s permit. Check with your local regulatory agency to find out the specifics of these rules. If you need a valid license and you are caught without one, you could be levied a fine.
Most locations throughout the country have ruled that e-scooters must be ridden in a bicycle lane and cannot be used on a sidewalk. This is to protect pedestrians from frustration and accidental injury. If you are unsure where you can ride legally, check out your local governmental agencies online.
Moreover, the reason that there’s so much hate for electric scooters is that people don’t follow the laws. There’s always a chance someone can get hurt. Or, the rider may be in an area where an eScooter is not permitted. So, do yourself a favor and get familiar with electric scooter laws in your area.
If you need a valid license and you are caught without one, you could be levied a fine.
Are electric scooters legal in the UK?
They are legal to purchase but there are some restrictions in place as to where you can ride an e-scooter. Generally, you can only ride scooters in the UK on private land.
Do I need insurance for electric scooters?
No, not in most cases. Some states will require a valid driver’s license and having insurance can be a requirement to be issued said license. Check your local regulations.
Are lights required on electric scooters?
In most states, yes, lights are required to be in good working order when riding an e-scooter. The good news here is that most modern scooters come with high-grade lighting systems.
STAT: According to the DMV, Louisiana allows electric, low-speed scooters to operate on sidewalks, bicycle paths, and highways with posted speed limits of 25 mph or less. (source)