Our posts contain affiliate links. Sometimes, not always, we may make $$ when you make a purchase through these links. No Ads. Ever. Learn More
If you are thinking about buying a new electric scooter for a child in your life, you may be wondering what the age limit is to be able to ride modern e-scooters.
The age limit to ride an e-scooter varies depending on where you live. This age limit can be as young as 11 years old all the way up to 18 years old.
Before you purchase an electric scooter (like the Razor E300) for your kid or for someone else’s kid, read up on local laws and licensing requirements in your location. We have assembled some of the laws and regulations you are likely to encounter and some suggestions on how to adhere to them while still allowing a child to use an e-scooter.
As previously mentioned, there could be a strict age limit to ride an electric scooter. In Minnesota, for instance, this age limit is 12 years old. In California, the age limit is 16 years old. Check with your local regulatory agency to find the age limit in your state, city, or municipality. Some companies like Razor do create electric scooters designed primarily for children of all ages. These kid-friendly scooters can occasionally circumvent local laws and regulations as they tend to feature less powerful motors than those aimed at adults. That is why it is important to check how many watts your electric scooter will need.
California, for instance, requires scooter riders to have a valid license or permit.
In addition to age limits, some states will require riders to have a valid driver’s license or driving permit before using an electric scooter. This will automatically increase the age limit to at least 15, as that is typically the youngest a teenager can obtain a learner’s permit. California, for instance, requires scooter riders to have a valid license or permit. It is important to remember that in most areas, a juvenile of 16 or older can be treated as an adult when it comes to traffic violations. Check your local regulatory agency for rules about licenses and permits. For more help, visit our guide to learning where it’s legal to ride an electric scooter.
In addition to age limits and licensing requirements, many states require that scooter riders wear appropriate safety gear at all times. This includes helmets, kneepads, arm pads, and related pieces of safety equipment. We recommend wearing safety gear even if it is not required by law. Still, on safety, it is also important to learn how to fix the brakes on an e-scooter just in case. Moreover, if you want to fully update your scooter for safety requirements, then you’ll want to know how to mod an electric scooter.
It is important to remember that in most areas, a juvenile of 16 or older can be treated as an adult when it comes to traffic violations.
Is there a speed limit for e-scooters?
This depends on your city, state, or municipality. The speed limit can be non-existent or it can be 15 to 20 miles per hour. Be sure to read up on any local laws and regulations regarding speed limits.
Who do I call to report an e-scooter that is damaged or unsafe for riding?
You can contact your local regulatory agency or contact the scooter manufacturer. Each of these options will provide you with the information you need.
Do e-scooter riders have to wear a helmet?
Some cities and states require e-scooter riders to wear a helmet while others do not. We still recommend wearing a helmet even if it is not required by law. This will help prevent injury.
STAT: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has established that mopeds and scooters are responsible for over 20% of traumatic brain injuries. (source)
Also why not check out: